Blast from the Past: Weekly Writing Challenge

8 Oct

Here is my attempt to follow through with this weekly writing challenge. I write both fiction and non-fiction so I thought I would give it a try with some poetry. I really like poetry but, I don’t write it too often and I never show it to anyone either. But, the challenges says to go outside of our box, and this should cover that too.

Heavy Heart
Heavy Times
Doesn’t feel whole
Nothing like mine
They keep saying time
How much?
Be patient, you will see

Yet with this pain, I cannot be
Be patient, do not rush
I don’t want to walk, I want to run
If I run, maybe I can get a glimpse of what I want
And what I want is an idea of you and me…

Heavy pain throbs in my chest
Up and down, sideways
Center and towards the left
Some call it the heart
I call it the center of my being
Where my life starts, and begins and ends again
And now it’s bleeding all over
Red, red, pools of red
I look at my hands, stained with red
Because I hold my heart in my hands
I hold the beginning within my hands
Grasp it tightly
Until it is the end again

The Daily Post

The Daily Post is on hiatus this week, so we’ll be highlighting great posts from the archives that you might have missed the first time around (never fear — there’ll still be a new Photo Challenge on Friday!). 

For the Weekly Writing Challenge, here’s one that was a fan favorite the first time around. If you’re in a blogging slump, it just might give you the creative boost you need.

____________________________________________________

Last week, we highlighted Tim of Get Second Lunch, whose latest post had just been Freshly Pressed. One of the things that drew us to his post was his unique style—illustration-heavy posts that give him a great opportunity to put his own spin on familiar topics.

View original post 321 more words

One Response to “Blast from the Past: Weekly Writing Challenge”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blast from the Past: Weekly Writing Challenge | life n me! - October 13, 2013

    […] Blast from the Past: Weekly Writing Challenge (lostinmytwentys.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

